… my personal best, Fri, 6 July – Equi Terme to Salsomaggiore, 141 km and 2,000 m of climbing

A very long and tough day on my bicycle.

I was quite apprehensive about the day both due to the distance at 141 kms, and the climbing we had in front of us. This reminded me of my day on the Tourmalet, in the Pyrénées, France when I gave up.

There’s no doubt about it, the climbing was tough, at one stage at 15% gradient, but I did it!

I rode with “the Americans’’,  and Sharon from Penrith. Now ‘’the Americans’’ comprise, Bob (who has ridden across America), and Joseph and Peter from Chicago. Joseph is Peter’s son who has just graduated in Economics and Math from college, and Peter is a lawyer.

‘’Bob’’ is a retired CPA, and we have some form of  ‘’CPA fellowship’’, and while I’ve maintained my CPA designation for almost forty (40) years, I’ve not worked as an accountant for the past twenty (20) years.

Anyhow, we make a good groupe together and enjoy each other’s company.

This is the link to my personal best ever ride – http://app.strava.com/rides/12729535

About missbianchiandme

This is not ... all about me
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to … my personal best, Fri, 6 July – Equi Terme to Salsomaggiore, 141 km and 2,000 m of climbing

  1. Kevin & Jeanette says:

    John
    You are motivating me, the bikes have gone in for a service.

    Kevin

  2. michael/lyn milton says:

    great riding john – 141 klms – yes lyn & i WANT to come with you next year – while watching the time trial last night i caught myself saying “go john”!!!! – “cheers” for your Mother in Asti – michael & lyn (milton)

    • missbianchiandme says:

      Thanks Lyn and Michael – another big day today, 143 kms. Began with a descent in the rain down Alpe d’Huez and rode to Aix des Bains. Rest day tomorrow so hopefully can update my blog, take care on the roads, john w

Leave a Reply

