Daily Archives: July 5, 2012

Wednesday, 4 July – Independence Day or alternatively “rest day”

Independence Day, how apt. I’m going to enjoy just being able to take my time and sit around doing whatever I want for the day. This is our first rest day after four (4) days of cycling, and while it’s … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

… which way do I go?

The tour operators provide with route maps each day, and have also provided Garmin GPS or downloaded the routes into our own Garmin’s. I can only say how happy I am that I have my own Garmin. Each morning we … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Tuesday, 3 July, San Giminiano to Lucca, 102 kms

Our ride started off this morning with a long climb out of San Giminiano. It was pleasant enough as the morning was cool, and the sun not as fierce as the previous days. Our group went off and made good … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Monday, 2 July, San Quirico dorsa to San Giminiano, 102 kms

Another long and hot day today. Beautiful country side as we rode along, but it was a difficult ride, with many long climbs, but we made it. San Giminiano is a UNESCO Heritage listed town, but again I did not … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Sunday, 1 July Tuscania to San Quirico dÓrcia, 108 kms

Beautiful setting for the hotel overlooking the Tuscan landscape with the elegant villas and the Tuscan pine trees Very tired after days ride in the heat and the sun, and I did not go into the town as I was … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Saturday, 30 June Rome to Tuscania, 129 kms – ride out of Rome

I started the ride out with a broken valve, so had to change my tyre … but that was OK, as I expected to have one (1) flat, and this was it. But I did not expect to break my … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The “grouppe”

Our group of fifteen (15) is comprised of a diverse range of people, most from Australia and three (3) from America. The tour organisers is All Trails from Melbourne, Susan and Phil, though the actual tour is run by Experience … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments